Wednesday, April 17, 2024


Following the release of their acclaimed new album, Wilderness of Mirrors, Texan psych-rock legends THE BLACK ANGELS will be coming to the UK for a slew of live appearances in 2023

Dates are as follows:

Sat 25-Feb SWX, Bristol, UK
Sun 26-Feb Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool, UK
Wed 1-Mar QMU, Glasgow, UK
Thu 2-Mar New Century Hall, Manchester, UK
Fri 3-Mar Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London, UK

Tickets on sale now at

The shows follow the release of recent single,“Empires Falling”, one of the many highlights to be found on their electrifying new collection. Of the new single, the band say: 

“‘Empires Falling’ is a critical and reflective plea that examines humanity’s repetitive art of violent mass destruction. As we say in the chorus, “it’s history on repeat.” We are living in a Wilderness Of Mirrors, where it’s hard to tell what’s right from wrong, up from down, or the truth from lies as we navigate through these times where the fate of humanity is being refracted and reflected from one state of panic to another. The world is a “bleeding animal” and we are left exhausted, polarized, and “pleading from street to bloody street.”  History has proven, time and time again, that without a drastic metamorphosis from our leaders, politics, and ultimately ourselves… “you can be the one who saves yourself, or you can watch it all go to hell.”

It has been 5 years since fans have been treated to an album from the band and Wilderness of Mirrors marks a triumphant return with their foot on the pedal with with acclaim for their new record already spanning across BrooklynVeganClashFLOODGigwiseGuitar WorldLouder Than WarNPR All Songs ConsideredPremier GuitarSPINThe Times, and Under The Radar and more.

The new collection expertly refines The Black Angels’ psychedelic rock attack alongside a host of intriguing sounds and textures while political tumult, the pandemic, and the ongoing devastation of the environment have provided ample fodder for their signature sound and fierce lyrical commentary. Mellotron, strings and other keyboards are more prominent than ever before. The Black Angels – Alex Maas(vocalist/bassist), Christian Bland (guitarist), Stephanie Bailey (drummer), Jake Garcia (guitarist), Ramiro Verdooren (multi-instrumentalist) – co-produced the record, working closely with Brett Orrison (co-producer) and Dinosaur Jr engineer John Agnello to achieve something fresh and new while retaining their heavily influential classic sound.

Since forming in 2004 in Austin, TX, the Black Angels remain masterfully true to psych-rock forebears such as Syd Barrett, Roky Erickson, Arthur Lee and the members of the Velvet Underground, all of whom are namechecked on “The River.” The band’s global influence is solidified by their beloved, long-running Levitation Festival, the veritable ground zero for the genre’s past, present and future — celebrating its 15th anniversary this year. 

The band will bring their blistering live show to stages across Europe and the UK on their headlining 2023 tour which begins in Lisbon on Jan 27. The full list of EU & UK tour dates can be found at

Wilderness of Mirrors album art by Christian Bland | Hi-Res Download

Wilderness of Mirrors tracklisting:
1. Without a Trace
2. History of the Future
3. Empires Falling
4. El Jardín
5. La Pared (Govt. Wall Blues)
6. Firefly
7. Make it Known
8. The River
9. Wilderness of Mirrors
10. Here & Now
11. 100 Flowers of Paracusia
12. A Walk on the Outside
13. Vermillion Eyes
14. Icon
15. Suffocation

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube | Apple Music | Spotify | Bandcamp

Or please contact:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Stay Connected

Visit our LoveBelfast websitespot_img

Latest Articles